You had to wait too long again – I`m sorry for that. I felt tired and was not in the mood to photoshop some of the shots I want to share with you.  But since yesterday this has changed and I have already finished editing most of the pictures. Tomorrow you may expect a new story about me attending a Pecha Kucha event as well as checking out the Brisbane’s China Town. I will continue with some cool macro shots of bugs and spiders, an ant video, with the results of the photo shooting with Ben, our former house mate and with breathtaking colourful landscape pictures from Kangaroo point, taken on the same evening as the LED hoop photos. The sequence of upload will be a surprise and depends on the my sentiment of the day. However, for the next 5-7 days you will find nearly every day new content on my blog.

Camera shop talk: Our house mate Teagan bought a new camera today – a DSLR with 3 lenses, filters and a camera bag for reasonable $1.300 – a Sony Alpha 57. Unbelievable! I never ever would just enter a shop and spend so much money on a product without having done research for ages in advance.  I am very happy for her that she was lucky to get a profound consulting since she had no clue which camera would suit her needs best. In my opinion the Sony Alpha 57 is the perfect choice for an entry-level / intermediate level if you look for an all-round DSLR with quick burst shooting and good video function. I will share some of my basic photography knowledge to help Teagan getting started and she suggested to join me at one of my next shootings. Maybe I can borrow her Sony sometimes for night or portrait shots in better quality. Talking in detail about cameras, some of you might wonder which camera I will buy if I were willing to spend some thousand dollars for it…okay – probably only 3% of all my followers want to know that – anyway…I also care for minorities. 😀  My first choice would be the Canon EOS 5D Mark III, my second choice the Nikon D800.  Besides that I would still keep a bridge camera to take with me every time I don’t want to carry around too much heavy photo equipment. Furthermore I like the mega-zoom ability most bridge cameras have. I probably would go for the successor of my FZ150, the Panasonic Lumix DMC FZ200. If you are interested why I prefer these models to others and which features and specifications matter for me the most , feel free to ask your specific question in the comments.

In the gallery below you find the photos of the second Eating for Animals event, held as a picnic potluck at Orleigh Park in West End on February 3rd, 2013.

