Yesterday morning I woke up very early, Liz told me later that it was shortly past 4:30 am. I turned from my left side to my right side and back left , right, left… until very agitated bird noises disturbed my efforts to fall asleep again. I have listened to so many wondrously sounds in the last weeks that I wasn’t alarmed that much. But the quarrel continued and I hoped for a chance to photograph a cool bird if I could find my camera quickly enough. I had a look out of the window but only saw some crows and turkeys. Then I became aware of a tiny Lorekeet flapping with its wings but unable to lift off more than some centimeters above the ground. The crows pecked him with their big beaks and the Lorikeet tried to escape, squeaking in panic. The bird which probably had a broken wing was trapped within an 1 meter strip between house and a deposition of about 20cm height. The crows pecked the Lorikeet another time and it nearly broke my heart to see this creature suffering. I knocked at my window fence to distract the crows and turkeys but they were only shortly looking towards my position. I performed a blitz-start out of my bed, running barefoot in pyjama to the backyard door, stepped out and shouted at the crows. This time the crows slung their hook and the Lorikeet tried a bit helpless to escape, too. Liz who had woken up by the bird squeaking came out of her bedroom and I immediately explained the situation, telling her that we had to save the bird. She also entered the backyard, I gave her a towel and after some attempts she had caught the Lorikeet in it.  It took a half minute before the bird slowly calmed down and its squeaking stopped. I quickly put on some clothes and Liz handed me the bird over like a new born child. Through the thick towel I could feel its little heart beating very fast. On one hand I had to make sure the Lorikeet could not escape but on the other hand I didn’t want to overheat it by putting too much pressure on his body and wrapping the towel completely around him. Like having a glass of water in my hands completely filled to the edge I walked down the stairs and tried to avoid shaking and everything else what could have worried it. Liz opened the door of her car for me and fastened my seat belt  because I had to hold the towel with both hands. The acceleration and the centrifugal force in curves were not easy to handle and the Lorikeet tried a couple of times to move and to flap its wings but I softly reinforced the pressure around it. Altogether the bird was really quiet and handy. After some minutes it started to nibble the towel and one dry leaf which had stuck to the towel. The Lorikeet (we named it Peter although he could also have been a female) seemed to be more and more comfortable and confident. Our hopes that he would survive grew. A while ago Liz’ son had found a handicapped bird, too, and they had brought it to a wildlife station with voluntary vets. Remembering that incident she immediately knew where we had to go . After 20-30 minutes we arrived at the gate to a huge areal. It was shortly before 6 am and the gate opened just in time at 6 am. Liz entered the wildlife station and talked to a women while I waited in the car with Peter. We put him and the towel in a shoe box which we had prepared with some holes. We gave it to the women in the wildlife station. Liz wrote down a telephone number for asking later how Peter was doing. We went back to Elanora by car and I nearly fell asleep. When I got out of the car I saw a turkey making a mess of the neighbour’s front  garden, scratching the soil from the garden on the street. Liz explained that she had named him Oskar and I had just witnessed his every day ritual. The neighbours would sweep the soil back into the front garden area later on that day and the loop would continue over and over again. In the afternoon I interviewed Liz about the telephone call concerning Peter. He was fine and given to a bird carer. For more information we should call on the next day. Depending on Peter’s condition we can fetch him soon and release him in his old habitat.

What an exhausting morning but totally worth the pain. To hold this cute Lorikeet gently in that towel, having close eye to eye contact for about half an hour and to watch him yawning was an unforgettable experience. In case we are allowed to bring him back I will videotape the release so you can go crazy, too, because of that overload of cuteness.

