Of course I knew that animals in Australia are quite different to common animals in Berlin so no surprise here when lots of wild turkeys were walking through the backyard of Jason’s house (NO, I am not talking about the „Döner Kebab“ guys I had around my flat for 10 years but about the creatures which sadly are eaten by some  people at christmas) and cockatoos sitting on high power voltage lines. Even a cute lizard warming up in the matte glass cover of the kitchen lamp felt not too strange for me but the noises these creatures make take some days before your body doesn’t get alarmed every time you hear them in action. Hard to describe but I really thought I had to watch out for a bird until Elaine, a house mate, convinced me that krak-krak-krak sound was produced by a tiny lizard. One evening I was leaving my room to have a pee when I searched for the light switch in the dark. The moment it became light something moved incredibly fast across the wall and my reflexes  collapsed. Some of you know that I am a bit jumpy when I am touched unexpectedly or similar stories happen. Anyway, after I got over my first shock I took my camera, took advantage of the super zoom ability and photographed that huge spider, about 6cm in diameter. Every time the infrared light for focus hit it, it moved and when I switched the kitchen light on,too, it vanished in a blink of a sec under the fridge.

From that time on I was mentally prepared to see a spider whenever I left my room at night. About 3 days later while making a late dinner a smaller spider suddenly showed up in the kitchen basin and seemed not to be able to get out of it. On one hand scared that I would panic if it crawled over my body with hyper speed while trying to catch it up and to release it outside, on the other hand determined to let it struggle no further, I had a plan. I hang a microfibre towel for dishes over the edge of the basin like a ladder hoping the spider would be smart enough to see this construction as a welcome rescue option but it didn’t. It was 3am and I was tired. I wrote a message to my house mates to prevent them from flushing it accidently or with full intention down the sink on the next morning: “Please save the spider in the basin, DON’T kill it.” I put the sheet of paper on the kitchen table and went to bed. Later on that day I tried to figure out who had been in the kitchen first and it was Jason. But he had no idea what my message was about. Obviously the spider had found its way out of the basin by itself with a little help of me and the kitchen towel. I was very happy about it!

On day 7 walking around the city centre for the first time, I noticed some birds with very long beaks how they made their way, unimpressed by the crowd of people around them, through the  pedestrian zone. Nobody cared about them because they seemed to be pretty normal there but I felt like: “Hey, call a vet or the police, the Brisbane Zoo is surely missing an inhabitant.” That was in Brisbane. Now on day 10 in Elanora, other creatures keep me awake at night: koala bears, deeply growling like wild pigs  and birds producing sounds like excited orang-utans 100% rainforest style. Apart from that it is a beautiful serene place to be here and crickets are only noisy around dusk time.

Tomorrow I will explain how a GO card works which you need for public transportation unless you want to spend 20% more by buying a paper ticket and if I have some more minutes I will compare architecture standards between Germany and Australia and post some illustrating examples. My former customers  will never dare again to complain about the execution of the sanitary installation in their houses! 🙂

